House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

JOIN NOW to contact


Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

  • 24 Aug 2024* - 1 Oct 2024* (*Approx)
  • 1 month 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (1)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

West - Montrose


Our comfortable home sits on just over 3 acres in a very small rural town in the Rocky Mountains of SW Colorado.
We have a dog, Wally, who is a friendly, happy Catahoula. He's a bit of a goofball with a healthy combination of high energy and complete inertia! He's affectionate and appreciates attention and snuggles - and he loves to go on hikes! There are lots of trails within a short driving distance; we take him out of town every day where he can roam off-leash for at least an hour, with an occasional whole or half day further afield. We play games with him (such as 'find it') a few times a week.
He can be left if necessary - and only occasionally - for up to 7 hours, as he has doggie-door access to his fenced yard. He doesn't have anxiety but he does like knowing that someone is around. We are both retired, so he is used to having company all day.
He has heartworm preventative and flea/tick/worm tablets once a month, wrapped in cheese.
We have a vegetable garden which is fairly low maintenance. It will need a 20-minute weeding once a week and the water turned on/off when necessary.
You will need a car to get here, although you are welcome to use our car and/or pickup during your stay. The nearest towns of any size (which have public transport terminals and car rental companies) are about 90 miles away. Most of our local shops and facilities are within walking distance, but there is no public transport available here for going further afield, and no car rental.
Although we don't have the amenities of a big town, the area is one of outstanding beauty with huge expanses of public land available for outdoor recreation.
Our house is single story. Our guest room has a full (double) bed, a desk and chair, chest of drawers, nightstand, and closet with plenty of hangers. It is quiet and dark at night. There is a full bathroom and a shower room, well-equipped kitchen, and well-stocked pantry and freezer.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Login to View
  • Country, Mountains (Nature, Quiet, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Fishing/Boating
Live Rent Free

Do the math

Whether you're sitting for free, or getting paid, house sitting can be a wonderful way to save, or make, good money.

Feefo badge