House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

JOIN NOW to contact


Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

  • 1 Aug 2024 - 24 Aug 2024
  • 3 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (3)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

North East - Saint Louis


Looking for that special person or couple to watch our house and pets.

We live on 200 acres (mostly wooded) in northern Minnesota. Just one hour south of Canadian border. The property has a 2 ponds and lots of walking trails. It’s possible to see grouse, White tail deer, beavers, ducks, black bears, and many different species of birds. There is no hunting allowed on the property. Other than wildlife the only other thing you will hear are trains that go through the edge of the property. In Orr there is a small grocery store, bar/restaurant, cafe, Post Office about 8 miles away to the north and in Cook there is a larger grocery store, Post Office, and more 12 miles south. Virginia, MN is 40 minutes south and has Target, Aldi, Tractor Supply, Harbor Freight, WalMart, and numerous fast food places and sit-down restaurants. Duluth is 1 hour 40 minutes south that has many big box stores and beautiful Lake Superior.

The guest room has a queen bed. You will have access to one of the bathrooms, the kitchen, dining room, living room, and a screened-in porch. There is good internet, a very good Verizon signal, the television has Roku, Netflix, and Hulu. There is no AC however, by keeping the windows open at night and closing them during the day should keep it cool all the time.

All our pets are rescues. We have 2 older dogs, Sheba (15) a beautiful German Shepherd who is very gentle and loves everyone and Rosie (8) a Pomeranian who is lovable and gets along with everyone. They love to go on walks and are very good on a leash. They are both inside dogs and go out when needed. We never leave them out alone. They are fed once in the morning and some treats later in day/evening.
We also have 3 indoor cats, Martin (9) a tiger stripe shorthair, Buzzie (5) a tiger stripe longhair, and Chickadee (2) a black/white shorthair. Dry food is left out for the cats but they do split a can of cat food in the morning. They all use the cat boxes.
We also feed the birds, squirrels, etc. once in the morning. They get peanuts and sunflower seeds. In a different area we also feed the deer some corn. We also get lots of humming bird that we feed - they have 3 feeders that would need to be refilled, sometimes daily.

We will have outdoor potted plants that will need watering - the hose is close by. Indoor plant that will need some watering as well.

It may seem like a lot of work when you think there are 2 dogs and 3 cats plus the outdoor birds and deer, However, feeding in the morning would take maybe 1/2 hour, after that there is just letting the dogs out as needed and maybe cuddling with the cats. Watering the plants and feeding the humming birds as needed.

It’s very peaceful here, and yes there are mosquitoes, etc (heck it’s Minnesota! 😊) but we do have a screened-in porch. There are many lakes nearby, lots of great restaurants/bars at resorts, like Myrtle Lake Resort, the Echo Trail is also about 30 minutes away - it’s a nice drive through the northern minnesota woods, and Voyageurs National Park. A good chance of seeing the Northern Lights/Aurora Borealis.

Let us know if you have any questions or would like to see more photos.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Wheelchair Access
  • Login to View
  • Country (Shopping, Nature, Quiet)
  • Pubs/Bars, Fishing/Boating
Save Money

No commissions

We don't take commissions, so your money stays yours. Both free and paid sitter find our service transparent & easy.

Feefo badge