House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

JOIN NOW to contact


Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact


$200 tip included to help offset expenses

  • 4 Sep 2024 - 24 Sep 2024
  • 2 weeks 6 nights
What we need
  • Cats (2), Birds (1), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (1)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

San Francisco Bay Area - Sonoma


Greetings travelers.
We're looking for an honest and caring person(s) to look after our critters and plants while we're away. We have 2 Cats, a bird, a chicken, a frog, a spider and have a small garden that requires daily watering.

I need someone to maintain the wild bird feeders and outdoor water bowls. I know this is weird, but we have a pet chicken. She enjoys coming inside and she sleeps inside. She sleeps on a chair with a poop pad. I replace the poop pad every few days. She tends to follow our cat, Enki around, which he isn't 100% thrilled about. During the day, she is frequently free range in the backyard.

In the am, the tasks include: checking the wild bird feeders, put clean water in birdbaths, water the backyard plants and put nuts on the table for the squirrels and birds. Feed the two cats their daily bowl of wet food (am). They each get one can per day. The litter boxes should be cleaned every few days for your comfort and theirs. Check to see that the caged bird has fresh water and enough food, each day. In the evening, water the front and back yard (small gardens). One last thing that could be every other day is the red-eyed tree frog gets crickets every few days, say about 3-4. and his water bowl is cleaned and filled with fresh water. The paper towels in the frog habitat need to be replaced each week or when they get too wet. About 2-3 times during your housesit seems about right. The frog's fogger needs to have the water level checked so it doesn't run dry. The tarantula is super easy. It eats maybe one cricket per week but I add water to his bowl every other day and replace the cotton ball that stays in the water bowl. That's basically it. Once per week the house plants will need to be watered.

Our home has nice natural light and the neighbors are pretty friendly. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate more pets. I think that about covers it. We have a single bed downstairs and a queen size bed upstairs. It's about 1800sf 2-story. We are 5 minutes to the freeway and downtown Santa Rosa. There are lots of beautiful wineries nearby that draw tourists from all over the world. There's a beautiful walking path at Spring Lake, 5-10 minute drive. And the coast is a 45 minute drive to Bodega Bay. It's a lovely area, great for walks, hiking, biking, surfing. Also, there is the lovely Lake Sonoma that is a 45 minute drive north. San Francisco is about an hour south, without traffic (after 10am southbound, 2pm northbound).

Thank you for reading our post. Please let us know if you're interested in staying at our house and taking care of our critters and plants. Happy Trails and Kind regards, Teresa Thompson and Mike Butala

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Cable TV, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Login to View
  • City, Suburban, Coastal, River/Lake (Shopping, Sport, Nature)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself & expand your horizons.

Feefo badge