House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

Make contact - Join for free


Gold (24mths)

usually negotiate a charge when there are multiple pets and house duties.

House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Federated States of Micronesia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Marshall Islands, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Palau, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming


33, writer/consultant

Hi there!

My name is Sahra and I am a Somali-American writer/traveler among other things. I have years of pet-sitting and house sitting experience. I have house/pet sat all across the U.S including Alaska. My versatility in caretaking has enabled me to sit all sorts of homes, pets, and farms. I have done long-term sits 6mos and longer as well as weekly ones. Currently, I am based in the Northeast Kingdom of VT where I work from home and often travel for my freelance projects.I have experience with cats and dogs but can look after other animals as well. I have lived on organic farms so I am comfortable with different animals including alpacas (I lived with 7 of them on a homestead once!) I tend to enjoy sits where I have access to nature and quiet and enjoy tending to pets and connecting with the land. Place is very important to me as an artist and working professional. I am responsible, creative, and very active. I do freelance writing and some consulting for work. I enjoy reading, hiking, writing poetry, singing, interpretive dance and leading a simple but rich life.

I adore animals and am godmother/auntie to several furbabies all over the country. I also enjoy humans:) Connecting and sharing stories are of special interest. Very grateful to share this journey with prospective house-sitting folks. I am great storyteller! Reach out to hear one or to just say hi!

Looking forward to connecting.

Your friend in-sitting,

Reviews (1)
Sahra was a great sitter for my elderly miniature dachshund. She was great with communications to me and my house was well looked after. I highly recommend her for house/pet sitting.
ROSEMARY ( Louisiana, Oct 2022 - 1 month 1 week)
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, home & garden - you can really relax! It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge