House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Platinum (36mths+)

After spending 6 years traveling through Mexico and South America we are now back in the US house and pet sitting in the US.

House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United States
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
  • 2023: 24Dec-15Apr2025 | 2024: 25May-14Jul
  • On a house-sit right now

Traveling Mom and Son

79, Retired

53, Traveler

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to look at our profile.

We are active, non-smoking, retired mother and son travelers, blessed with excellent health ready to take good care of your home and pets while you are gone. We are originally from Portland, Oregon. We eat mostly vegetarian and Michael is a great cook. We are low-key and quiet and other than some local hiking and exploration, we will most likely be playing with your pets, working on the internet and reading. We love traveling and have a great love for pets and plants. We enjoy and are familiar with lawn and garden maintenance and most facets of property upkeep having been homeowners, we both know our way around a toolbox, so your property and home will be in good hands.

Some background:
Michael has traveled quite bit in his life, speaks Spanish and a smattering of other languages and has been my interpreter on this incredible journey. I was blessed to have both my parents with me until they passed. I found retirement boring so started an on-line business that I am still working. Mom passed a few years ago and my son came up with this brilliant idea of traveling, since I was free for the first time in my life. The only caveat was I had to get rid of most of my belongings. It was scary and unthinkable at first, but now feels great! What a sense of freedom! Long story short...we started in Mexico then continued on through South America. We spent 3 years in Buenos Aires as we were caught during the lock down in March 2020 and decided to stay awhile after the borders opened. I told my son I would try this "traveling thing" for 6 months...that was 6 years ago. I have found traveling, meeting new people and experiencing new cultures and food in this very small world so rewarding...I really love this life and have no plans to stop any time soon.

Why we want to house sit:
We needed to go back to the States to take care of some business, so we thought why not try House and Pet Sitting. Michael is an "animal whisperer" and he had missed having a dog or cat to love on. He loves to walk and hike with dogs. We would be honored to love and take care of your pets and home while you are away.

Our experience:
We have been fortunate to have so many wonderful personal reviews through our Airbnb stays from the last 5 years and several of our hosts and their families have become good friends that we stay in touch with. Our Airbnb reviews show our character and how respectfully we will treat your home. Our house setting experience so far has been with family in Oregon and Colorado and Buenos Aires, but we hope to get some "experience reviews" on this site for the United States. We were house sitting in Buenos Aires in a home that started as an Airbnb rental and turned into a house sit so the owner could visit her children in Spain for 6 months. We also got to take care of her two poodles. This is another wonderful host that turned into extended family.

Communication:
We will gladly communicate as much as you'd like as we want you to enjoy your trip and be comfortable with the knowledge that your pets and home are being well taken care of. We respect other people's homes and possessions and will take care of your home and beloved pets as if they were our own! Your home will be in the same condition you left it.

So, go ahead and book your trip, everything is going to be great, we want you to travel with peace of mind! Thank you for considering us for your next get away! We promise not to disappoint!

Dona & Michael

WHERE ARE WE NOW?
We accepted a 4 month house and pet sit through this site that's in Roslindale, Massachusetts, just outside of Boston that started August 15th, 2023 and has been extended twice, so we will have been here for one year total before the owner returns to the US in July or August 2024.

HERE ARE SOME REVIEWS FROM Airbnb
(most are translated from Spanish):

"Good guests!! Dona and her son have been very good guests! Communication and organization were very simple from the beginning. They adapted well to our culture, took precautions and enjoyed their stay. They have kept the apartment and plants in optimal conditions and took very good care of my precious dogs. Highly recommend as guests and taking care of my home and two dogs. They are very trusted and are now considered part of our family."
Buenos Aires, Argentina
January 30, 2020 - June 1, 2022
PRIVATE FEEDBACK:
"My mother and I hope you enjoyed your stay at our home. We appreciate you taking care of the house and dogs so Mom could come to Mallorca for the birth of the baby. I hope you will stay in contact us from where you are in the world. Please come visit me in Mallorca. A hug!"
Delia's daughter Naara - Mallorca, Spain
NOTE: We started out here as Airbnb guests, then rented directly, then agreed to house and pet sit so Delia so could travel to Spain for the birth of her first grandchild, which turned into a 6-month house and pet sit.
....................
"Dona and her son were respectful and friendly guests. They were understanding with our need to show the apartment to future renters while they were there. They respected our apartment and left it very clean and tidy. I highly recommend them to any host."
Guillermo (Mother-Marta, host) - Buenos Aires, Argentina
December 31-January 30, 2020
................
Very polite and great guests! Left apartment very clean. I recommend.
Valentin (Mother-Maria) - San Isidro, Buenos Aires, Argentina
December 16-31, 2019
................
Dona and Michael entered as guests and in 2 months became great friends who we will always be willing to receive. People of great human quality. Continue your great journey and hopefully you return soon. 100% recommended.
Mauro - Cordoba, Argentina
October 21-December 16, 2019
................
We were delighted to rent our home to Dona and Michael while they were in Loja. They are wonderful people and took excellent care of our family home and were very respectful. Guests of the highest caliber. They are welcome back anytime.
Maria - Malacatos, Ecuador
May 26-July 16, 2019
................
Dona is a beautiful lady, very sincere, affectionate and fun for me. It was a great pleasure to have you in my house. I hope you come back soon. Loving greetings to you and Michael, we enjoyed you both so much.
Ivonne - Loja, Ecuador
May 19-26, 2019
................
Dona and Michael were excellent guests, we will always remember them. We loved sharing with you, and you will always be welcome. Highly recommended as guests and people.
Santiago & Zilpa House (Lorena) - Cuenca, Ecuador
April 25-May 4, 2019
................
Dona and her son have been the best guests I've ever had. Totally recommend and hope they return.
Santiago - Medellin, Colombia
March 8-15, 2019
................
Dona and her son were kind and caring guests. Mindful and appreciative of our home with all its details. They are on an amazing adventure! I hope I get a chance to hear more about it in the future. I would absolutely recommend them if you ever got a chance to host them at your place.
Tanita - Cartagena, Colombia
March 5-8, 2019
................
Dona and Michael were lovely, friendly guests that took wonderful care of my apartment. They are welcome back anytime. It was a pleasure getting to know you.
Rose Marie - Oaxaca, Mexico
December 15, 2018-January 10, 2019
................
Dona and Michael rented my apartment for a month and were very high caliber guests. They took excellent care of the apartment and left it clean. They are very respectful and are welcome back anytime.
Elia - Morelia, Mexico
October 31-December 1, 2018
................
Dona and her son are guests of great human quality. They adapt with great simplicity to the place where they arrive. They love our Mexico and our culture. I'm so happy to meet you. I highly recommend them. They will be welcome guests whenever they wish. Keep in touch.
Virginia - Morelia, Mexico
October 19-31, 2018

NOTE FROM DONA:
These are just a few reviews. We have been blessed to meet so many wonderful people on our journey that are now friends.

 
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge