House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

Make contact - Join for free



I will sit certain opportunities for free, others on a sliding scale. I'm sitting as a way to serve others while offering myself travel opportunities (places I want to visit or visit again) and/or to supplement my retirement; hopefully I can do both with many sits. My rates are evolving as I’m learning the current costs of traveling. Driving, although usually more expensive, seems to be the most reliable mode of transportation with airline issues that seem to pop up all to often. I will sit for a rate that seems fair taking all aspects of the sit into consideration.

House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), None
Preferred Locations
  • Arkansas: Ouachitas, Ozark Mountains, River Valley, Timberlands, Iowa: Northwest, Southwest, West Central, Kansas: KC Metro, Northeast, South Central, Southeast, Louisiana: Greater New Orleans, Nebraska: Southeastern, Nevada: Las Vegas, Pioneer Territory, Reno-Tahoe, New York: 1000 Islands Seaway, Adirondacks, Central Leather Stocking, Chautauqua/Allegheny, Finger Lakes, Niagara Frontier, Oregon: Mt. Hood & The Gorge, Portland
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2024: 19Mar-31May 2024: 23Feb-18Mar | 1Jun-6Jun

Companion of Pets

58, Retired (Air Force Veteran)

Hi, thank you for your interest in my services; I believe my greatest endorsement is: kids and pets love me! Another (important) endorsement: being asked to come back to sits (three times...2 with challenging rescue several months on here).
I currently reside in SW VA; I have children/grandchildren in Wichita, KS and a child in Portland, OR; I’m looking for sits in or near them as often as possible in 2024.
I grew up mostly in the country; I worked on dairy farms, split wood by hand and cleaned up a butcher shop after closing time, all before I was 15. I'm still in pretty good shape; I live a healthy lifestyle, I'm a nonsmoker, very light/very occasional drinker (woodchuck cider & Evan Williams honey are my go to drinks when I do). I've learned (and am learning) to eat better...I don't stress over it though. Dogs and cats have been a part of my life since I can remember. I rescued a stray cat a year and half ago before really cold weather set in, kept her for 6 months and she’s now living a life of contentment with my oldest son. Numerous people have been amazed at how easily and quickly their pets have taken to me...there have been a few exceptions of course.
I grew up in PA, NY, MD, NM and VA; I was stationed stateside in TX, GA, NY, WY and KS; I've lived in KS, FL and VA since retiring. Tampa, FL is the largest city I've ever lived in; I have been in most of the largest (NY, LA, Houston...) US cities. I've spent a significant amount of time in at least 25 other states; I've been in all except 5. I’ve owned 5 houses and sold them all in much better condition than when I bought them.
I spent 21 years in 3 career fields in the AF (Security Police, Facility Management and Financial Management); I earned degrees for all 3 through the Community College of the AF. I was responsible for my squadrons education and training programs for 6 years as an additional duty (basically a second almost full time job). I have a BS degree in Management, Computer Information Systems. I was stationed in Greece and Germany (living in 2 houses in the local communities in each) and deployed as a paying agent to Slovakia and Iraq (personally responsible for millions of dollars in cash).
I traveled (by plane, taxi (several forms including rickshaws), bus, train, car and walking) throughout central and northern India during my 3 trips (1 was a month long) there as the Executive Director of a non-profit board raising funds for a medical college. It was quite an experience being a passenger on the roads in India!
I visited several islands and flew to Turkey while I was in Greece for a year and my family and I traveled throughout Europe when we were in Germany for four years.
I really miss traveling and want to visit as many areas of the United States as possible. I drove by the Grand Canyon several times while I was in the AF (WY to CA & back), never having (or taking) the time to visit it; there are several amazing national treasures like the G.C. I would love to have another chance at visiting.
I've been entrusted with millions of dollars, equipment worth billions (the security of aircraft for example) and homes/pets of friends, family's and now complete strangers through this site. I was a volunteer soccer coach for 10 years. I hope my profile helps you determine if I'm a good fit for your pet/house sitting needs.
I'm looking forward to giving you peace of mind while you are away from your fur (or non-fur) babies and home if you select me as your house/pet sitter.

Reviews (1)
Gene did a great job taking care of my two labs and my daughter's lab. He took care of my vegetable and herb plants and fed our koi. He kept in touch and I was able to enjoy my vacation without worry.
BARBARA ( Virginia, Jul 2023 - 1 week)
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge