House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Platinum (36mths+)

Rates for longer sits:
- 2+ weeks $40/day
- 1+ months $30/day
& always negotiable!

House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • California, Nevada, Oregon
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
  • 2024: 21 May - 21 Jun

Clean living animal lover

50, computer technician & musician

Over the course of the past 30 years I have provided house sitting services for many people including in Australia, England and the USA. Born in Australia, my first travel to the USA was at age 21 when a friend in Sydney invited me to attend a conference with him in Hawaii focused on various emerging computer technologies including the Internet. The invitation was due my already excellent technical skills in such areas.

A connection made at this conference led to a contract job in northern California, where I worked as the project manager of a private email system roll out for an organization with members all around the globe. This contract job was during the summer months of 1996 and so began my love of the Pacific Coast of north America. It was also during these months that I did one of my first notable house and pet sits, which included looking after a 200 pound English Mastiff for a number of weeks (he was an incredibly sweet guy too!).

Over the decade from 1996 to 2006 I worked as a computer professional in Sydney, London and northern California. Until the end of the 1990s I was based in Sydney, from 2000 to 2003 I was based in London, then from 2003 to early 2006 once again in Sydney. Over this decade I visited northern California periodically for work and leisure reasons, making perhaps five visits averaging about a month each in length during these years.

Due the nature of my lifestyle with moving back and forth between countries, I ended up doing quite a few periods of house sitting for a variety of people. Everything from taking care of an apartment and goldfish to looking after a several acre property with dogs, cats and chickens.

As a confirmed animal lover I have had both dog and cat (and chicken, and various other animal) friends over the course of my whole life since birth. So meeting and looking after new furry (and feathered, and even sometimes scaled) friends is always an enjoyment for me. Beyond these more common household animals I also have quite good experience with goats (feeding, general care and even milking) as well as some basic experience looking after cows and horses.

In 2006 I lived in northern California on a "working holiday" for nine months doing a variety of jobs including day labor on rural properties, as I wanted new experiences outside technical and office work. Over these months I did several house sits and also decided that I would like to return to live in California, which I did in late 2007. It was then that I applied for and gained my USA permanent residency (green card) and as part of that process I did of course have a full police and FBI check (I do not have a criminal record).

Over the past 16 or so years my life has involved regular travel back and forth between northern California and Australia. This is due me wanting to maintain strong connections to my family down under as well as my friends in both Australia and California. During these years I have provided house sitting services for numerous people on both sides of the Pacific.

When in northern California my main home since late 2007 has been a five acre property owned by friends (in rural Lake County) though I have chosen to also keep doing house sitting at various times. This is so that I can continue enjoying the new views and experiences provided by moving around to different towns and places.

In terms of reviews here on this site note that in the years since March 2020 I have done a number of sits, but these were all for personal friends and acquaintances. None of those people are registered on this site, hence no new reviews on here since 2019. However, my recent hosts have naturally been completely happy with my service (as always) and I can provide direct references for some of those sits if required.

As a house sitter my intention is to leave any place I stay in better condition than when I arrived. This includes ensuring that all is at least as clean and tidy as it was left for me, animals are fed and looked after with plenty of affection and attention, plus ensuring plants and gardens are well watered with any other chores properly attended to as needed. A simple summary is that I want the home and animals and plants all to feel really good when the folk whose home it is arrive back!

So if you would like a clean living animal lover with over 30 years of house sitting experience to look after your home and beloved animals while you are away then please do get in touch.

Reviews (11)
Rob was very easy to work with. He left the house in great shape and our dogs had been obviously well-attended to. He didn’t panic when one of the dogs had an upset stomach in the middle of the night. We felt fortunate that he sat for us.
 
PATTI & MARC ( California, Feb 2024 - 2 weeks 2 nights)
No rating Rob was a wonderful house sitter. He was easy to relate to, a clear communicator, clean, organized and very helpful. He took an interest in our dog and took him hiking and paid care to all of my animal. I felt very certain that I had made the right choice in choosing him to care for my home, plants and pets while I was away. I would ask him to house and pet sit for me again.
LISA ( Oregon, May 2019)
No rating Rob was our first ever house-sitter, and it was a wonderful experience for us! He kept our garden and plants alive through some extremely hot weather, such that they were absolutely thriving when we came back, and took great care of our cat (even though she was a bit of a jerk!). We even came back to a house that was cleaner than when we left, which was a great surprise. I would highly highly recommend Rob for any homeowner!
JOANNE ( Oregon, Jul 2018 - 1 week 6 days)
No rating Rob made our month long trip overseas worry free! He cared for our cat and our house- everything was in perfect order and our cat was happy when we returned. We're so glad he was able to sit for us and hope that he is available should we need a sitter in the future. Thanks Rob!
SERENA ( California, Jun 2018 - 3+ weeks)
No rating Rob house sat for us twice this year and I'm so sorry this endorsement is so late. Rob took time to speak to us ahead of arrival, get to know us a bit, get to hear about our dog and where we live. It really put us at ease to have a good conversation with a good human. Rob took excellent care of our home and our dog and we came back to a cleaner house than we left. Rob explored the area with our dog and took him on plenty of on and off leash walks. He shares a love for the outdoors with our ... MORE
MARY ( California, May 2018 - 2 weeks 5 days)
No rating Rob took care of my house and cats for three weeks in April. When I travel, I fly stand-by, so I was very grateful that Rob was very flexible about dates and could accommodate some uncertainty on my part. He did a terrific job taking care of my house, leaving it cleaner than when I left home; he watered my plants, never touched my chocolate cache (although he would have been welcome to), brought in the mail, changed the sheets and did laundry for me before he left, and even repaired my vacuum ... MORE
CATHERINE ( Nevada, Apr 2018 - 2 weeks 6 days)
No rating Leaving our pups in Robs care was the best decision ever. We had to fly over seas and it would be the first time we were leaving them for a long stretch and being so far away. Also the first time we were leaving our home in someone elses care. Rob gave us updates on the pups and sent pictures to ease my mind.. They were having a lot of fun. Too my surprise we came home to a clean well kept up home. That says a lot considering our lab sheds like crazy and it had been raining almost the whole ... MORE
ELLIE ( California, Mar 2018 - 1 week 4 days)
No rating Rob was such a lovely sitter! He was very kind and trustworthy. He watched our dog Thomas and I really came to appreciate how he described my dog and got to know him. It was very sweet. He left my home neat and clean and even washed the sheets! What a pleasure! I would whole heartedly have Rob housesit for us again. Thanks Rob!
DANIELA ( California, Mar 2018 - 4 days)
No rating Rob took care of my home, pets (2 dogs and 5 chickens), and yard for over two months in the most exceptional way and exceeded my expectations by far. Since this was a relatively long sit, Rob put my mind quickly at ease and I could concentrate on my work. I was confident he had everything under control at the home front and I never had to worry while away! He is also a genuinely kind person and gave my dogs the utmost attention. He took them on many long walks and hikes in the surrounding ... MORE
SIMONE ( California, Oct 2017 - 2 months 1 week)
No rating Rob was such a terrific house sitter! The animals were so well cared for and he took such good care of our home. We highly recommend Rob for anyone looking for a responsible, considerate and thoughtful house and pet sitter. We hope Rob is available next time we leave town!
TIFFANY ( California, Sep 2017 - 1 week)
No rating We want to give a high recommendation for Rob. He cared for our pets, and our home as if they were his own. We completely lucked out when we placed an ad with only a few days notice. Rob came over the evening before we left. It was clear our pups and our home were in good hands. I read in his profile that he likes to leave the home in better condition than when he arrived. Sure enough, it was true. I had broken a pane of glass in the front of our house. I was out of time so I just covered ... MORE
TIM AND TRINA ( California, Jul 2017 - 1 week 4 days)
 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, home & garden - you can really relax! It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge