House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United States

Charles & Sean

67, retired professor / editor

61, Education Writer

We are two married professionals, together for 34 years, with many years' experience house-sitting. Charles was a full-time instructor at the University of Colorado for many years, and now edits articles for Encyclopaedia Britannica. His poetry appears in literary journals in the US, the UK, and Australia. Sean is an education writer for children and academic designer with McGraw-Hill Publications. He has authored more than 50 books and hundreds of education articles over the past 30+ years.

We are digital nomads, professionals who carry on our careers online while living in a travel mode housesitting and pet-sitting. We love this life! Over many years of travel on six continents and 66 countries, we have found caring for others' homes and pets (and sometimes livestock) to be a profound privilege that broadens and deepens our experience not only of that place and time (and those adorable companion animals), but of our own lives.

Full-time year-round house-sitters since 2012, we have house-sat and pet-sat more than 60 lovely homes and estates in North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Europe/UK, and the Middle East. We have a file folder full of five-star reviews from homeowners.

We are available for longer house-sits.

Experienced with animal care:
* We have extensive experience raising, caring, treating, diagnosing, and humoring cats and dogs over many years. We adore them; they grow quite attached to us.
* We have extensive experience with farm animals, pet birds, and a variety of other companion animals (snakes, lizards, tortoises, rodents, even bees). Charles was raised on a quarter horse ranch and has years of experience in most aspects of equine (and some bovine) care.
* We have experience living cheerfully around wild animals. We have worked on scientific expeditions in several remote corners of the planet as assistants for wildlife biologists, geologists, marine biologists, and on archeological digs in wildlife preserves. In Colorado, our rental homes were high and remote, with few people but with neighbor bears, coyotes, mountain lions, bobcats, foxes, and many, many deer, etc.

Experienced living abroad:
* We have traveled in 66 countries on six continents.
* We are confident, well-educated, and experienced managers.
* We are aesthetes, appreciating and caring for others' belongings.
* We love animals and they love us.
* We are educated, open-minded, creative, easy-going, warm, and diligent.
* We are excellent communicators.
* Between us, we can function quite well in Spanish, German, and French -- (Charles can read some Italian and Portuguese, too).
* Non-smokers.

 
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge